VU Meter – The January update to the Color Organ

I promised on the Color Organ page that I would have some January updates in store. This project is definitely going to happen this month. The work that I have in mind isn’t particularly cutting edge or new and the technology in the format I plan to use it has been around since the 80s, but it has some interesting applications. Instead of a color organ triggering different colored light circuits as a result of different frequencies I am leaning towards a volume meter, particularly because of National Semiconductor’s LM3916. I want to a do a large scale volume meter for my room as a proof of concept and with a little luck produce an interesting piece to look at. Below are a few videos of others work. More to come within the week.

This entry was posted in Lighting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment